Second Big White-Nose Syndrome Map Update Adds 10 Counties

The two recently confirmed Iowa counties were added along with eight suspect Missouri counties in the latest big white-nose syndrome map update released on April 17th.

White-nose Syndrome Map Updated April 17th, 2015.

White-nose Syndrome Map Updated April 17th, 2015. Image via USFWS

The additions come a day after the announcement by Iowa Department of Natural Resources that it has become the 26th state in the U.S. to confirm white-nose syndrome, following confirmations of the disease in Des Moines and Van Buren county.

Meanwhile Missouri is having a terrible year for the Pseudogymnoascus destructans, the fungus responsible for WNS, with its second big batch of suspect counties added to the map. The latest confirmations of the fungus show it present in Clay, Ralls, Moniteau, Ozark, St. Francois, Callaway, Cooper, and Miller counties.

Not very good news to come out on U.S. National Bat Appreciation Day.

Produced by Lindsey Heffernan of the Pennsylvania Game Commission, the map shows the confirmed and suspected occurrences of WNS by county/district from its initial discovery in 2006 through April 17st, 2015.

To date, WNS has been confirmed in bats in 26 states and five Canadian provinces.


Bookmark & Share Comment


Sorry, comments have been closed.