Learn About Utah’s Alpine Karst at Upcoming NSS Webinar

June 10, 2013
The cave and outflow of Ricks Spring in mid-summer.

The cave and outflow of Ricks Spring in mid-summer. Photo by Miami33139/Wikipedia

A newly announced NSS webinar will delve into some of Utah’s less well-known features; its caves.

Famous for its magnificent National Parks, canyon country, and one of the largest saline lakes in the world, Utah is not known to have extensive cave systems or even a great number of caves. Despite this, the state does have a considerable amount of carbonate-rock terrain and some of the best-developed alpine karst anywhere in the western United States.

This presentation, given by Larry Spangler, a Groundwater Hydrologist with the U.S. Geological Survey since 1988 and long time NSS Convention karst hydrology/geomorphology instructor, will acquaint viewers with Utah’s karst features including the (1,227 foot) deep Main Drain, Ricks Spring and large sinkholes as much as (1,000 feet) across and (100 feet) deep.

The event runs from 9:00 to 10:00pm EDT (8:00 pm CDT/ 7:00 pm MDT/6:00 pm PDT) on Thursday, June 27th, 2013.

Space is limited, so don’t wait to reserve your spot.

Also, note that on the day of the presentation, it is important to join in at least 10 minutes early to assure your spot.

Bookmark & Share Comment

Comment

Sorry, comments have been closed.